Can I At Least Have the Artisan Bread?

I’m supposed to be a Baby Boomer.  I don’t feel like a Baby Boomer.  I still have kids in school, I’m at least a decade from retirement, and there are way too many things left on my mental bucket list.

What I am, though, is part of the Sandwich Generation.  My girls aren’t yet launched; meanwhile, my parents are becoming more fragile daily.  The mission: guide one generation to greater independence while easing another into accepting the limitations of age and infirmity.  Let’s throw in a couple of dogs, a spouse, a mortgage, and typically insufficient retirement savings, just to spice things up a bit.  Top it off with distance and deafness.  (The parents are deaf, not the daughters — although there are moments that’s up for debate!)

How to manage?  Conventional wisdom suggests patience and humor.  I have attitude and snark.  I think it’s going to be a long road.

Leave a Reply

